Menu
Immunization and Physical Exam Requirements
According to Massachusetts state law, students are not permitted to attend school without physician signed documentation that they have received the following required immunizations:

Preschool
Hib: 1-4 doses; the number of doses is determined by vaccine product and age the series begins
DTaP: 4 doses
Polio: 3 doses
Hepatitis B: 3 doses; laboratory evidence of immunity acceptable
MMR: 1 dose; must be given on or after the 1st birthday; laboratory evidence of immunity acceptable
Varicella: 1 dose; must be given on or after the 1st birthday; a reliable history of chickenpox or laboratory evidence of immunity acceptable

Grades Kindergarten through 6
DTaP: 5 doses; 4 doses are acceptable if the 4th dose is given on or after the 4th birthday. DT is only acceptable with a letter stating a medical contraindication to DTaP
Polio: 4 doses; 4th dose must be given on or after the 4th birthday and >6 months after the previous dose, or a 5th dose is required. 3 doses are acceptable if the 3rd dose is given on or after the 4th birthday and >6 months after the previous dose.
Hepatitis B: 3 doses; laboratory evidence of immunity acceptable
MMR: 2 doses; first dose must be given on or after the 1st birthday and the 2nd dose must be given >28 days after dose 1; laboratory evidence of immunity acceptable
Varicella: 2 doses; first dose must be given on or after the 1st birthday and 2nd dose must be given >28 days after dose 1; a reliable history of chickenpox or laboratory evidence of immunity is acceptable.

The law requires that children who are not immunized may attend school only if a physician provides documentation stating that the student is exempt due to medical reasons, or the parent/guardian provides an authentic letter stating that the student is exempt for religious reasons.  Students lacking immunizations may be excluded from school during disease outbreaks in order to protect their health and that of the school community at large.

Massachusetts state law also requires physical exam forms for new students and for all students entering preschool, kindergarten, and fourth grade. If your student will be entering one of these grades, please submit a record of his or her physical exam to the school nurse before the start of the school year.